Monday 26th May

Posted: 28 May 2013 in Training Diary
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Well I honestly have no recollection of if I did any training over the weekend, I’d like to think I did….maybe a jog and some of my “work-out” but…my memory is blank, so…

What I do know is that on this day I went for a bike ride, I was feeling good and the Sun was shining so I was determined to get out and make the most of it. With this in mind I went for a longer rider than last time, taking a route from Eccleshall to Stafford, then along the A34 to Stone, and back to Eccleshall. This forms a nice ‘triangle’ route which I’d estimated at about 15 miles, although now that I am registered on Mapometer.com I can share these routes with you and get an accurate mileage too!

It’s really great! I mean, what would I have to write in my Training Diary otherwise?

“…Uh…I went for a bike ride today… It was nice!”

Anyway so here’s the map for this triangle route

Eccleshal - Stafford - Stone Triangle by HatsOff on mapometer.com

Along the way I stopped of briefly at Great Bridgeford…

View from the bridge at Great Bridgeford, looking towards Stafford

The river running under the bridge at Great Bridgeford, Staffordshire, UK

Then further on, half way along the A34 I took this picture at a grand country house near Whitgreave…

Country House near Whitgreave, Staffordshire, UK

However as I was heading back down the hill towards Eccleshall I felt like making the most of the good weather, and since I wasn’t too exhausted just yet I decided to extend my ride, so I diverted down the lane to my right and headed out on the reverse of the “Copmere Country Lanes” route from my last ride.

For those keeping track this is the lane just before the 9 mile marker on the Copmere loop’s map. I continued out along this route until a little past the 7 mile marker and took the left turn, following this all the way back to the B5026 (Loggerheads Road) then took this back in to Eccleshall. I stopped at the old Church to take some more pictures…

Holy Trinity Church, Eccleshall, Staffordshire, UK

Church information engraving, Holy Trinity Church, Eccleshall, Staffordshire, UK

From the Church I rode up Kerry Lane (steep hill!) and then back along in to Eccleshall and the ‘Finish line’….or perhaps it was the Swedish line, I don’t know! 😀 (ahem…sorry)

I hope the pictures make up for the complete lack of anything else much to say when I go for a bike ride to train and get fit! All the time thinking and remembering that this isn’t just for me but is in preparation for The Event.

Leave a Reply

