A Long Story

Posted: 8 May 2013 in Bike Maintenance
Tags: , , , , ,

In the Beginning there was a MountainBike

That was until my new road tyres arrived (edit: a week) last Thursday!

“A good start”

I thought, but I knew I wouldn’t have time to fit them until Saturday morning so I left it at that…

“That’s fine, it only takes a few minutes to change the tyres…”
– track pump and tyre levers at the ready! –
“…then I can go out for a ride!”

MY FIRST TRAINING RIDE

Only…things are never as simple as we’d like them to be are they?   – No Sir!

So I managed to fit the front tyre with very little hassle, after all it’s an easy job right? Then I looked at the back wheel and thought to myself…

“Hmm the cassette is a bit mucky…”
– read: ‘caked in claggy, oily gunk so thick that it was clogging up all of the gears!’
“I guess I should clean it up a bit before I fit the new tyre!”.

Then I remembered that the hub bearings on this wheel had been a little loose the previous month and although I’d tightened them up I figured that perhaps the whole hub could do with a service.

“Hahaha! Oh yes, why make a job easy when you can make it difficult! Eh?”

This was a trend that was set to continue all weekend, as you’ll soon discover…

Comments
  1. hehehe made me smile ๐Ÿ™‚
    pushbikes are the bane and saviours of my life, great when they work, annoying when they don’t ๐Ÿ™‚
    and bikes can take alot of punishment ๐Ÿ™‚
    remember, WD40 removes grease and oil,
    i use 3in1 oil on the chain and gears

    • Tony Stark says:

      Thanks, I’m glad you liked it. This frustrating saga will be continued soon…

      Oh and thanks for the tip! Yeah WD40 is great for cleaning, just DON’T spray it onto things like hubs, Bottom Bracket’s and Headsets etc. — basically anywhere there’s *supposed* to be grease! lol

      Happily I have some 3in1 Oil in both a drip can and an aerosol spray! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Although GT-85 is a favorite of mine because it contains PTFE, so when it dries it leaves a micro-film coating of this low-friction lube, which great for chains and gears!

Leave a Reply

