Wednesday 24th April

Posted: 24 Apr 2013 in Training Diary
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Starting Small

Today was my first day of training so I thought it best to start small and build up gradually, nothing too strenuous to begin with. After all I didn’t want to push myself too hard too soon because I need to maintain my motivation and exercising to the point where it is tantamount to physical punishment is not likely to endear me to pursue these endeavours to greater extents, rather quite the opposite I think. Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised at what I achieved this morning, given that it’s been a couple of months since my gym membership expired and I haven’t really done any real exercise since then!

Okay, so I got up at just a few minutes past 7 this morning (a good start) but I gave in to my early morning hunger and after some all important hydration I ate my breakfast, which I enjoyed with a nice cup of Tea. This meant I had to wait for the food and drink to settle before I could get started so after half an hour, at about quarter to 8, I left the house. Here’s what happened next…

Morning Exercise:

Warm Up:
* 1/4 mile jog with “sprint” finish

Work Out: Focus on Core-Muscles
* Elevated Push-ups (2 x 10 reps)
* Sit-ups (2 x 10 reps)
* V-Ab Crunches (2 x 5 reps)
* Russian Twist with 4Kg weight (2 x 10 reps)

Stretch Out:
* Gentle Yoga stretches for the back, legs and chest

Work Out: Focus on Cardio
* 1/4 mile jog – Double Hill route

Warm Down:
* Gentle stretches to loosen up the legs and chest muscles, then walking up an down.
* Hydrate and Keep warm

Comments

Leave a Reply

