Silent Ambition

Posted: 7 Aug 2011 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunrise over the Grand Canyon
I want.
I want to do.
I want to do good.
I want to do good deeds,
For you.
For me,
For the people I see,
I hear,
I think of,
I dream of,
I feel.
I feel fear.
I feel hatred.
I feel bitter.
I feel twisted.
I feel choked and constricted.
I hope.
I hope for better.
I hope to feel better.
I hope to better myself.
I hope for people to better understand each other,
And I hope to better understand myself.
I pray.
I pray for freedom.
I pray for strength.
I pray for forgiveness.
I pray for faith.
I pray for salvation.
I save,
And I am saved.
I save myself from others,
And I save others from myself,
And we are saved.
I am worth.
I am worth the effort.
I am worth the wait.
I am worth my past mistakes.
I have worth.
I work.
I work hard.
I work light.
I work by day,
And by night.
I am.
I am here.
I am now.
I am me.
I am you.
I am many yet nothing,
Nowhere and no one.
What?
What can I do?
What can I be?
What more do you want from me?
I give.
I have given.
I have given all.
I have given nothing.
I do not give in.
I am freedom,
Yet I do not speak.
I am free.

Comments
  1. I love this. Especially the short sentences that make the next line…i cant explain it…

  2. draliman says:

    I love your writing style. Your poems have inspired me to try a few more of my own, though unfortunately the tongue-in-cheek humour muse hits me far more often than the serious one!

    • Chris says:

      Ah well then you should enjoy it, your humor that is. I would like to muse with humor more often so you will in turn perhaps inspire me. I shall look forward to reading some of your poems
      Thank you for your comments, and keep writing 😉

Leave a Reply

